Tuition for online courses is based on residency. Online and on-campus courses have identical tuition. Online students pay an additional $60 fee per course to cover the costs of operating online courses. Please visit University of Utah’s tuition rate schedule for more information about tuition and to calculate tuition rates by program.
As an estimate, a resident undergraduate student with no declared major, taking 12 credit hours of online courses, can expect to pay $3841.33* per semester.
*Tuition calculations are based on the Fall 2016 term, are an estimate only, subject to change without notice, and vary per program. Many programs also offer financial aid, scholarship opportunities, or tuition assistance opportunities for which qualifying students may apply.
Postsecondary educational institutions that wish to offer academic programs to physical residents of Oregon, or those who wish to place students in distance education/field placement opportunities within Oregon, must comply with Oregon state law. Specifically, § 583-030-0035(18)(c) states that:
- After classes begin for a term, a student who withdraws from a course is eligible for a partial refund through the middle week of the term. Refunds shall be based on unused instructional time and shall be prorated on a weekly basis for schools using a semester, quarter, or nontraditional calendar. Without specific commission approval, refund rates shall not be differentiated on the criteria of a student’s source of income or loan repayment obligations except as otherwise required by law.
The University of Utah is in the process of seeking state authorization to offer distance education programs to residents of Oregon. In order to be in compliance with Oregon State Code § 583-030-0035(18)(c), we will make this modified tuition refund schedule available to Oregon residents in our distance education programs.